History of the BAR

In 1998, Willie Ray Parish, Becky Hendrick, and some community-minded El Pasoans came up with the idea of the Border Art Residency as a way to support contemporary visual art. The residency was simple. Ray and Becky remodeled an old cotton gin above his studio, and the result was a 2,000 square foot place for one artist per year to live and work without the worries of rent or "real life" for a while.

The Border Art Residency was formed as a 509(a)(3) supporting organization to the El Paso Community Foundation, and the partnership has been wonderful for more than a decade. Ray and Becky have been landlords and volunteers for the project since its inception.

The Border Art Residency maintains its own board of directors, people who have been strong stewards of the residency through the years.

Border Art Residency Founders and Directors (1998 - 2014)

Carol M. Carnes
James Drake
Rick Francis
Carl E. Ryan
Richard Thomas
Doug Schwartz
Margarita Porras
Linda Serda
Kate Bonansinga
Dr. Melissa Bobadilla
Antonio Castro
Judith Gaskin
Barbara Sands
Mara Blatt
Rosalia Beltran
Carolyn Moore
Carlos Gutierrez
Nicole Arnold-Cote
Charles Horak III
Becky Duval Reese
Jorge Jimenez-Muñoz
Chris Cummings
Rene Nevarez
Valerie Miller-Topp

Raymond Telles
Steven Yellen
Mary Jane Anderson
Anne M. Giangiulio
Marina Monsisvais
Sarah Adleman Spier
Kimberly Kleberg
Chris Lane
Amy Paoli
Barbara Anne Welch
Rodrigo Flores
Sally A. Hurt-Steffen
Secret Wherrett
T. Barrett Wood
Jennifer Barr-Ardovino
Raul Gonzalez
T.J. Karam
Kimber McCarden Foster
Julie Summerford Tarwater
Jim Ward
Melissa Asfahani
Lisa Elliott
Ricardo Fernandez
Isha Rogers

Facebook Link
Donate Now!
Border Art Residency
P. O. Box 272
El Paso, TX 79943